Outstanding Alumni Honored

Posted: April 18, 2018

Our 2018 Outstanding Alumni were honored at our annual alumni and friends banquet on April 7, 2018, at the Ramada Conference Center in State College, PA.

The Forest Resources Alumni Group honored Devin A. DeMario ’13g, William M. Healy ’64 and ’67g, John E. McDonald ’93g, Steven A. Williams ’86g, and Howard G. Wurzbacher, Jr.’79.
     Dr. Steven Williams, president of The Wildlife Management Institute, was also the after-dinner speaker. He addressed the waning public relevancy of conservation management and what we might do to secure a brighter future for our natural resources and future generations. 


Left to right: Dave Gustafson, outgoing president of the Forest Resources Alumni Group; Dr. Bill Healy; Howard Wurzbacher; Devin DeMario; Dr. Steve Williams; Dr. John McDonald;and Dr. Mike Messina, professor and head, Department of Ecosystem Science and Management.

The Forest Resources Outstanding Alumni Award was first awarded in 2001 to recognize outstanding alumni and to foster closer relationships between the award recipient and students, faculty, staff, and other alumni. The selection criteria for the award include professional achievement, excellence, impact and recognition; service to the profession, to the department, and to the community; and demonstration of high personal and professional standards.